The road to ‘Home’

18 Mar

Oblivious of the destination
My feet walked the daily trodden path
The heart looked around in search
Are we home yet-it asked?

They have a lot to advise,
Experienced they are: they claim
Home is where the heart is?
It is a dream, far-away: they say

I put on the shell – fought the war at every corner
Hardened the soul; Bruised and ran
They said, for survival – it was must
Still I wondered – Is it home yet?

Why care, I thought
Found the most beautiful mask and put it on;
Did not let the heart wander from what they said,
Tamed it every time it fought.

Trudging down that road today,
I looked into the mirror of yesterday.
And then I saw those gleaming eyes,
Innocent, hopeful and deep – I couldn’t stop staring.

I peeped into myself,
And could not find thee…
Longed for the heart that believed;
Happy was all I wanted to be.

Helter-skelter, this way and that
Lost and wounded, my heart and me – we searched
Took us a while,
Love, trust, faith, belief – finally we recognized.

Feelings of happiness engulf me,
Joy in ever moment of life I seek.
Am home finally –
It is a bliss – which will never leave.

Leave a comment