A Story to Read and Write!

19 Jun

Sometimes you need to bribe children for their own sake, yes bribe – and yes for their good.

I knew a 7-year-old who had to be coaxed for a doctor’s check up and some tests. Now, she had extremely articulate parents who tried to put sense in her; but this kid surprised them. At the end of the entire ordeal she made a deal – “Buy me a book on the way back and I will go to the doctor.” A seven-year old kid – not asking for a visit to the circus or chocolates or a new toy – but A Book, and a big, fat book she ended up selecting!

No prices for guessing – this was Me.

And till date I read – whenever and wherever possible, a minute waiting for someone, quick five pages before starting the day’s work at office, the loo, cheating through a conference call, on my lap-under the laptop in a meeting where I am sure nobody would notice me – I have prayed for people to turn up late while waiting at a cafe, I have deliberately missed getting down at my metro station so that I can finish the chapter, I have read with a torch in the blanket so that my parents don’t find out I am awake and bless the mobile and e-books during parties and sociadal (social -suicidal: one and the same! ) functions.

But  honestly I am not an avid reader –  I am gazillions of books behind being an avid reader and it pains – it pains right there where it hurts the most that however hard I try, I would eventually miss out on so many stories.

“Stories” – Precisely the reason behind that little kid to yearn for a book ! Stories – the reason for all those antics, just to pop my head into some pages!

Now this uncanny passion for stories governs my life to the extent of crazy!

My maid comes wearing new bangles – and I hear the clink of a story; a girl staring into space in the bus and I see a story; My friend returns from a trip and I want to hear the story; The aunty at the yoga-centre always seems so confused and I wonder what’s the story; A friend does not believe in love and I seek the story –  A birthmark, a marriage, broken glasses, love for a brand, beaches, a subtle hello, high-squeaked voices, faces at the doctors’ clinic, drug addicts caught, my neighbour’s shopping behaviour, crossed fingers and flying balloons, broken promises and soul-ripping eyes, lazy walks, an addictive smile, choice of a book, rash driving or a hug – behind everything, everywhere I sense a story: Feelings, Reasons, Incidents behind, Dreams ahead – waiting to be read, waiting to be told – stories in every molecule the universe holds!

Stories – the reason my every What follows a Why, details I seek behind every action and word – even a sigh!
Stories – the force behind Marketing – my career choice
Stories – that help me figure out things – virtue or vice!

Ha!

Quoting Kristin Martz: “We lose ourselves in the things we love, we find ourselves there too.”

“Stories” is why I attempt to Write !!

 

6 Responses to “A Story to Read and Write!”

  1. Pushkar Karn (@Pushkar_Karn) June 20, 2014 at 10:31 am #

    read a lot of your FB posts, comments, blogs etc about your passion for reading….but this one is the most evocative one 🙂

    also, this is for you http://www.storypick.com/16-truths-will-understand-book-lover/

    • Bhawana June 20, 2014 at 5:27 pm #

      OMG ! “THE” Pyshkar Karn ! Thank you so much – Keep visiting !
      And yes, the link – I can so relate to almost each of them – even ended up screaming at somebody for folding the page of my book 😛

  2. politicaldrama June 19, 2014 at 6:18 pm #

    Bhavna it’s a beautiful post…I can totally relate to u when u say – stories in every molecule….coz everything happens to connect some dots …it’s just the time which can reveal it!

    Loved ur post!

    • Bhawana June 20, 2014 at 5:25 pm #

      Thank you so much!! Keep Visiting!

  3. Amit June 19, 2014 at 12:24 pm #

    Brilliant write up…I always feel that a ‘like’ does the talking but this write up deserves a comment even if i hv to sign up as a new account for posting this. Kudos !! Cheers !!

    • Bhawana June 19, 2014 at 6:09 pm #

      Thanks so much Amit – soooo grateful for your kind words 🙂

      Do keep visiting!

Leave a comment